Here Comes The Cowboy

CD £10.99
  • SKU: 2812112645
  • UPC: 0842812112645
  • Release Date: 10 May 2019


Label Review.

2019 album also available on Vinyl.

Our Overview.

The ever effervescent and self deprecating McBriare Samuel Lanyon AKA "Mac" DeMarco is releasing his fourth full length studio album ‘Here Comes The Cowboy’ on what will be a debut release on his own record label: DeMarco’s Record Label. The Canadian singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer mixed his new offering at his Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles and it serves as the follow up to 2017’s Billboard 200 Top 30 success ‘This Old Dog’. Nearly every instrument on the album was played by DeMarco, aside from keyboards on select tracks by touring member and close friend Alec Meen. Traveling sound engineer, Joe Santarpia, helped shape the record, sharing engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco.

In a statement, DeMarco said “'Hi Mac here, First off, thank you for listening to my new record. This one is my cowboy record,” adding “Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. The rusty old grinning pin on the front and back covers of the record was purchased from a man in the mountains somewhere in the Nantahala National Forest between Chattanooga, TN and Asheville, NC. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities, these aren’t the people I’m referring to. Before realising that your surroundings don’t necessarily define who you are, I felt very uncomfortable in the company of that culture.”

There have been some murmurs going around of some fans accusing DeMarco of lifting from Mitsuki - who recently released her album ‘Be The Cowboy’ - but a representative for both musicians says the similarity in album titles is merely coincidental. For her part, Mitski is taking the news in stride. “I’m 100% sure mac & I just went fishing in the same part of the collective unconscious!” she tweeted.

DeMarco to date has released three full-length studio albums, ‘2’ 2012, ‘Salad Days’ 2014, and ‘This Old Dog 2017’, as well as two mini-LPs: his debut ‘Rock and Roll Night Club’ 2012 and ‘Another One’ 2015.