LP £19.99
  • SKU: 0093624893639
  • UPC: 0093624893639
  • Release Date: 19 June 2020


Label Review. 

Unreleased album from 1975. Also available on CD

Our Overview. 

The ever prolific Canadian singer songwriter Neil Young finally releases one of his most talked about unreleased albums - ‘Homegrown’. He has said this album is “the unheard bridge between [the albums] ‘Harvest’ and ‘Comes a Time’”, which perfectly describes the warm, semi-acoustic feel of these twelve songs. Originally intended to be released in 1975, the album has remained unreleased since then, and has a legendary status among Neil’s fans.

Chronologically speaking, ‘Homegrown’ was due to be the follow-up to his 1974 album ‘On The Beach’. Largely acoustic in nature it would have been seen at the time as a return to the sound of ‘Harvest’ his biggest selling album. However once it was completed in January 1975 he had a playback party and an another unreleased album ‘Tonight’s The Night’ recorded in 1973 was on the same reel. Hearing both, Young decided to issue that album instead feeling that ‘Homegrown’ was too “down” and “personal”.

Seven of the songs are previously unreleased on any album, and different versions of the other five songs would appear on later Neil Young albums. Neil plays guitar, piano and harmonica on the album, and is accompanied by a stellar group of musicians including Levon Helm, Ben Keith, Karl T Himmel, Tim Drummond, Emmylou Harris and Robbie Robertson. ‘Homegrown’ was so close to being issued at the time the artwork had already been prepared. That original sleeve is being used for its long awaited release.

Tracklisting: Separate Ways / Try / Mexico / Love Is A Rose / Homegrown / Florida / Kansas / We Don’t Smoke It / White Line / Vacancy / Little Wing / Star Of Bethlehem