LP £21.99
  • SKU: X20018VL1
  • UPC: 5056167118060
  • Release Date: 24 January 2020


Label Review. 

2020 album also availble on CD.

Our Overview. 

Synth electro-pop pairing Pet Shop Boys are releasing their new album entitled 'Hotspot'. The bands 14th studio album 'Hotspot' was mostly recorded in Hansa Studios, Berlin, and mixed in The Record Plant, Los Angeles. It was produced and mixed by Stuart Price and features ten brand new Tennant/Lowe tracks including the single “Dreamland” featuring Years & Years, which was released in September. ‘Hotspot’ follows Pet Shop Boys’ 2016 album ’Super’, which featured single “The Pop Kids” and appeared on Rolling Stone‘s 20 Best Pop Albums of 2016 list.

One of the songs, “Burning the heather”, features Bernard Butler on guitar and was recorded at RAK Studios in London. Pet Shop Boys say: “We’ve written much of our music over the last ten years in Berlin and it was an exciting experience to work on this album in the legendary Hansa studios there and add a new dimension to our sound.” The album is the last instalment of the trilogy of PSB albums produced by Stuart Price, following “Electric” in 2013 and “Super” in 2016.

The band have also announced a tour of the U.K. and Europe for May and June 2020. The tour, dubbed Dreamworld: The Greatest Hits Live, kicks off May 1st at Berlin’s Mercedes Benz Arena and includes stops in London, Glasgow and Stockholm. More worldwide dates will be announced soon. 

Trackisting: Will-O-The-Wisp / You Are The One / Happy People / Dreamland (Featuring Years & Years) / Hoping For A Miracle / I Don’t Wanna / Monkey Business / Only The Dark / Burning The Heather / Wedding In Berlin.