Love Is

CD £11.99
  • SKU: 4050538608595
  • UPC: 4050538608595
  • Release Date: 31 July 2020


Label Review. 

2020 album. Also available on Vinyl

Our Overview. 

‘Love Is’ is Steve Howe’s 17th solo record, comprising ten songs: five with current Yes singer, Jon Davison, singing harmonies and playing bass guitar and five instrumental tracks rotating through the running order. The instrumentals keep a highly progressive rock guitar style to the fore, with songs that explore stories of lives lived and lives only just beginning. “Love Is A River” is the central track, with several textural shifts, featuring a theme played on 12 string and steel guitars. Steve’s son, Dylan, features on drums.

“I called the album ‘Love Is’ because it hints at the central idea that that love is important but also love of the universe and the ecology of the world is very important,” comments Steve. “Alexander Humboldt went around the world and recognised we are destroying the planet but that was 200 years ago! We are still destroying the planet and, I suppose, my songs show the yearning I have for the love of nature and how beauty, art and music all stem from nature. There is a theme about those things, love, beauty, ecology, nature and wonderful people.”

Steve Howe is best known as the guitarist for progressive rock band Yes, and he has enjoyed a prolific recording and performing career spanning five decades. In addition to his solo work, Steve has released more than 50 albums with bands such as Yes and Asia and guest appeared with the likes of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Lou Reed and Queen.

Tracklisting: Fulcrum (instrumental) / See Me Through / Beyond The Call (instrumental) / Love Is A River / Sound Picture (instrumental) / It Ain’t Easy / Pause For Thought (instrumental) / Imagination / The Headlands (instrumental) / On The Balcony