One Nation Under A Groove

CD £7.99
  • UPC: 0803415859320
  • Release Date: 22 November 2019


Label Review.

1978 album with 3 bonus tracks comprising the original records bonus EP.

Our Overview.

‘One Nation Under A Groove’ was the tenth studio album by American funk and rock band Funkadelic masterminded by the force that is the phenomenal George Clinton and this release of the 1978 album also features three bonus tracks comprising the record’s bonus EP originally released on 7” vinyl. ‘One Nation Under A Groove’ was the band’s most popular album - and is still regularly ranked at or near the top of various “best album” lists - bringing them an unprecedented commercial breakthrough by going platinum and spawning a number one R&B smash in the title track.

“Widely hailed as the greatest funk album of all time” - Uncut, ‘One Nation Under A Groove’ was a landmark LP for the so-called "black rock" movement, best-typified in the statement of purpose "Who Says a Funk Band Can't Play Rock?!"; more than that, though, the whole album is full of fuzzed-out, Hendrix style guitar licks, even when the music is clearly meant for the dance floor.

Funkadelic was a key element of George Clinton’shighly influential P-Funk empire. With their unique combination of rock, psychedelia and soul music, Funkadelic crossed over into the pop mainstream and gained an international following, becoming one of the most important groups in the evolution of funk. With their roots in the late 60’s, this boundary-defying creative powerhouse was a source of inspiration during the worldwide explosion of rap and hip-hop in the 1980’s and 90’s.

Regarded by many as the greatest funk album of all time, ‘One Nation Under A Groove’ was recorded at United Sound in Detroit and includes a live track from their concert appearance at the Monroe Civic Center in Louisiana in April 1978. The band’s tenth studio album, ‘One Nation...’ was also their most commercial and its title track spawned an international hit (and a US R&B No.1). Renowned for their wacky, cartoon-inspired artwork this is one of Funkadelic’s most memorable and lauded creations. Featuring keyboardist and songwriter Walter “Junie” Morrison , the album also captures Michael Hampton at the pinnacle of his development as a guitarist.

Track listing:

1. One Nation Under A Groove

2. Groovallegiance

3. Who Says A Funk Band Can’t Play Rock?

4. Promentalshitbackwashpsychosis Enema Squad (The Doodoo Chasers)

5. Into You

6. Cholly (Funk Getting Ready To Roll)

7. Maggot Brain

8. Chant (Think ! It Ain’t Illegal Yet!) (Bonus Track)

9. Lunchmeatphobia (Think! It Ain’t Illegal Yet!) (Bonus Track)

10. P.E. Squad

11. Doo Doo Chasers (Going All-The-Way-Off Instrumental Version) (Bonus Track)