LP £17.99
  • SKU: V3216
  • UPC: 0602577076190
  • Release Date: 01 February 2019


Label Review. 

2019 album also available in CD.

Our Overview. 

Legendary Stone Roses frontman Ian Brown releases ‘Ripples’ his first solo material in a decade since ‘My Way’ 2009. ‘Ripples’ will be his seventh solo album. The 10 song collection was produced by Brown himself, and features three songs Brown co-wrote with his sons, who play “a multitude of instruments” on the record. The album also includes covers of songs by Jamaican reggae figures Barrington Levy (“Black Rose”) and Mikey Dread (“Break Down the Walls”).

The album was recorded in Liverpool and enhanced in the Beatles room at Abbey Road Studios, before being mixed by long-term collaborator Steve Fitzmaurice. The record was digitally mastered by Bob Ludwig in New York, while the vinyl was mastered by Chris Bellman in LA.

News of Brown’s upcoming solo effort comes more than a year after the Roses’ reunion seemingly fizzled out after five years with one last performance in Glasgow, at the end of which Brown announced to the crowd, “Don’t be sad it’s over. Be happy that it happened.”