Souther Hillman Furay Band

CD £6.99
  • SKU: 0190296954986
  • UPC: 0190296954986
  • Release Date: 06 July 2018


Label Review. 

1974 album from JD Souther, Chris Hillman & Richie Furay. 

Our Overview. 

This country rock supergroup was put together by Asylum Records head David Geffen who felt there was a gap in the market with the continued absence of Crosby Stills Nash & Young. Geffen had issued the debut album by young songwriter J.D.Souther who had written songs for fellow Asylum signings The Eagles and felt that his career would get a boost by being part of a surname led group. Singer songwriter Richie Furay (ex-Buffalo Springfield) had just left his band Poco while Chris Hillman (ex Byrds / Flying Burrito Bros) was also free following the break up of Stephen Stills’ Manassas. Hillman brought three other members from that band to flesh out the line-up - Paul Harris on keys, Al Perkins on pedal steel guitar and percussionist Joe Lala. Session drummer Jim Gordon (Derek & The Dominos was in his CV) completed the group.

This, their debut album from 1974 was a hit, almost hitting the Top 10 in the US and had a Top 30 single “Fallin’ In Love” contained in it’s grooves. Despite this success, the band began to experience problems - Gordon quit to be replaced by Ron Grinel. Meanwhile, Perkins influenced Furay to become a born-again Christian and following a poorly received second album in 1975, the group broke up and the three main characters all became Asylum Record solo signings, all issuing albums for Geffen until the end of the 70s.


* E-Mail: