Swiss Jazz Orchestra And Guillermo Klein

CD £12.99
  • SKU: SSC1552
  • UPC: 0016728155229
  • Release Date: 31 May 2019


Label Review.

2019 jazz album.  

Our Overview.

Self titled astonishing and totally immersive new album from The Swiss Jazz Orchestra & Guillermo Klein. The Swiss Jazz Orchestra, founded in 2003, has created a fabulous collective ensemble that has found a way to play regularly every Monday night in Bern, Switzerland since the ensemble’s inception. But the truly remarkable thing about the ensemble is its dedication to the presentation of new works by visiting artists and composers. The orchestra's origins lie in the Big Band of the Swiss Jazz School, the oldest college for jazz music in Switzerland (which has been part of the Art School of Bern Hochschule der Künste Bern since 2003.)

Celebrated composer and pianist Guillermo Klein has been a regular collaborator with the Orchestra for the past few years and the ‘Swiss Jazz Orchestra & Guillermo Klein’ presents the tremendous work the pairing has allowed to flourish. The connection between the Orchestra and Klein was apparent right away, as it was clear that this was a dedicated ensemble, a true band that was excited to delve into difficult music. Klein continued to visit Bern regularly, widening his repertoire and writing new pieces for the highly capable ensemble. It was a year later that the idea of recording an album of Klein’s work sprang to life.

Guillermo wrote and revised a number of pieces to suit the instrumentation of the Orchestra, whose wide breadth of tonal possibilities is truly astounding. Klein also took inspiration from a former resident of Bern, the brilliant Albert Einstein, and a famed landmark, the beautiful Zytglogge watchtower (which also played a part in the inspiration of Einstein’s Theory of Special Relativity), to write a number of pieces especially for this album.

The recording was made at the famed Bauer Studios in Ludwigsburg, Germany in December 2018. The pieces are wonderfully performed and engineer Andy Neresheimer captured the moving music tremendously.

Orchestra members:

Adrian Pflugshaupt - alto, soprano sax, flute

Reto Suhner - alto, soprano sax, clarinet, flute

Cédric Gschwind - tenor sax, clarinet, flute Jürg

Bucher - tenor sax, clarinet, bass clarinet

Matthias Tschopp - baritone sax, bass clarinet

Dave Blaser - trumpet, flugelhorn

Johannes Walter - trumpet, flugelhorn

Lukas Thoeni - trumpet, flugelhorn

Thomas Knuchel - trumpet, flugelhorn

Vincent Lachat - trombone

Stefan Schlegel - trombone

Andreas Tschopp - trombone

Jan Schreiner - tuba Samuel

Leipold - guitar

Philip Henzi - piano

Lorenz Beyeler - bass

Rico Baumann - drums

Guillermo Klein - Fender Rhodes electric piano, composer, arranger


* E-Mail: