Teenage Wildlife - 25 Years of Ash

2LP £22.99
  • SKU: 4050538549072
  • UPC: 4050538549072
  • Release Date: 14 February 2020


Label Review. 

Career Spanning Best Of. Includes brand new track Darkest Hour Of The Night. Also available on 2CD.

Our Overview.

‘Teenage Wildlife’ is a career spanning release from Northern Ireland alternative rock band Ash who formed in in Downpatrick, County Down in 1989 by vocalist and guitarist Tim Wheeler, bassist Mark Hamilton and drummer Rick McMurray.. The album shares its title with the documentary which depicted ASH’s rise from local school heroes to all-conquering band that topped the charts with their debut album 1977, ‘Teenage Wildlife’ traces the band’s recording career from exuberant debut Jack Names The Planets through to Buzzkill and Annabel from 2018’s top twenty album Islands. 

 ‘Teenage Wildlife’ also includes a brand new song “Darkest Hour Of The Night” alongside thirteen Top 40 singles amid an array of the band’s recorded history; breakthrough single “Girl From Mars”, Top 5 smash “Goldfinger”, the breathtaking “A Life Less Ordinary”, Ivor Novello-winning “Shining Light”, and live anthems “Burn Baby Burn” and “Orpheus”. 

The 19 track collection of rarities includes a version of The Buzzcocks’ classic “Everybody’s Happy Nowadays” (featuring Coldplay’s Chris Martin), the eternal “Teenage Kicks” and the collections infamous title track.

Perfectly encapsulating the highs, lows and debauchery of the band’s initial breakthrough, the ‘Teenage Wildlife’ inner sleeve features the brilliant acerbic tor documentary script by the late Steven Wells.

Tracklisting Double Vinyl:

LP Side A: A Life Less Ordinary (#10 UK Charts) / Arcadia / Darkest Hour of the Night / Kung Fu / Cocoon / You Can’t Have It All

LP Side B: Girl from Mars (#11 UK Charts) / Wildsurf / Shining Light (#8 UK Charts) / Starcrossed / Goldfinger (#5 UK Charts)

LP Side C: Burn Baby Burn / Dare to Dream / Annabel / Machinery / Sometimes

LP Side D: Oh Yeah (#6 UK Charts) / Angel Interceptor / Jesus Says