Thank You For Today

CD £11.99
  • SKU: 0075678656132
  • UPC: 0075678656132
  • Release Date: 17 August 2018


Label Review.

2018 album also available in Vinyl.

Our Overview.

Seattle based indie outfit Death Cab for Cutie’s ninth album is entitled “Thank You For Today’ and having risen from a small time solo project to Grammy-nominated rock band is no mean feat. DCFC recorded their ninth studio album in late-2017 and early-2018 in Los Angeles with producer Rich Costey. The 10-track LP is the first issued by the group established in 1997 in Bellingham, Washington without co-founding member Chris Walla. The new record includes contributions from co-founding frontman Ben Gibbard, bassist Nick Harmer, drummer Jason McGerr and touring guitarist/keyboardist Dave Depper and keyboardist/guitarist Zac Rae.

“I realised early on in the process that I wanted to write a record that is very much who we are,” said Gibbard. “I wanted to go more inward, and create something more personal.”

‘Thank You for Today’ is the sound of Death Cab for Cutie both expanding and refining; a band  twenty  years  into  its  evolution,  still  uncovering  new  curves  in  its  signatures,  new sonic  corners  to  explore.  The  Seattle  band’s  ninth  studio  album stands  alongside classic  Death  Cab  for  Cutie  albums  including  their  1998  debut ‘Something  About Airplanes’ and 2003’s masterful ‘Transatlanticism’ as  a  definitive  collection - ten  tracks that are by turns beautiful and dynamic and darkly anthemic and bittersweet.


* E-Mail: