CD £12.99
  • SKU: ACT90392
  • UPC: 0614427903921
  • Release Date: 30 June 2017


Label Review. 

2017 album.

Our Overview. 

‘Unbreakable’ opens with the title song, Nils Landgren’s own composition. It begins with an unmistakeable guitar intro by Detroit funk legend Ray Parker Jr. (for the occasion an ‘Honorary Funk Unit member’) a funky riff that sets the pace for what’s to follow - a nonstop funk blowout. Some funk, some jazz and some straight-out party music, and when the likes of Ray Parker Jr., Randy Brecker and Tim Hagans are willing to come along for the ride, it’s bound to keep the recipe going and some good music playing. 

The title is important to Nils and marks something of a turning point in the history of his band: “Throughout all our years together, there have been countless moments of great joy and laughter, but also times when we had to fight to stay on the right track. Remembering the highs always helped us to face the lows and to get back up on our feet. The love for the music and for each other has always won and always will. We are unbreakable”

Nils Landgren, one of the most successful European jazz musicians ever, has received a plethora of jazz awards and other honours, including the Swedish Grammy for Lifetime Achievement and the Royal Swedish Litteris et Artibus medal, from the hands of H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden, for his outstanding achievements.

Ray Parker Jr., guitarist, singer-songwriter and producer, was previously lead guitarist with Stevie Wonder, writing songs and doing session work for Aretha Franklin, Tina Turner, Diana Ross and many others. Parker has scored six Top 40 hits as a solo artist, including the million selling hit single ‘Ghostbusters’ in 1984.