CD £7.99
  • SKU: SMACDX1143
  • UPC: 0636551271431
  • Release Date: 07 June 2019


Label Review.

1967 album with 7 bonus tracks. Digipak.

Our Overview.

The legendary British 60s R&B band The Pretty Things were cult heroes who created some of the most exciting and innovative records of the sixties and early seventies. “The Pretty Things always made ‘The Stones’ look tame, and I think the time has come for their renaissance” - Dave Gilmour, Pink Floyd.

Winners of the Hero award at the 2009 Mojo Honours, the band have been a massive success and a huge influence on artists as diverse as David Bowie, Aerosmith, The Ramones, Bob Dylan, The Sex Pistols, The White Stripes, Kasabian and many, many more. The 1967 release 'Emotions' bridged the gap between the R’n’B era of The Pretty Things and the psychedelic Sergeant Pepper and Pink Floyd era of their ‘68 release ‘SF Sorrow’. The album is almost an exact snapshot of swinging London at its purest.

The Pretty Things were formed by Phil May and guitarist Dick Taylor in 1963. Taylor was hot from the first days of the Rolling Stones, the band he formed with Mick Jagger and Keith Richard, but left because it was time to go to art school; May was a hooligan disguised as a fellow student; and the rest of the band just picked things up from there.

Other bands played R&B, of course... the Kinks, the Yardbirds, even the Beatles tried their hand at it. But none of them played it like the Pretty Things. Their hair was long, their music was greasy, and they genuinely did not understand how to turn down the volume on their amplifiers.

“David Bowie worshipped Phil (May) - Phil had to write his telephone number in David Bowie’s book, and it was under ‘G’ for God!” - Dick Taylor, The Pretty Things.

2018 saw the release of a 50th-anniversary ‘S.F. Sorrow’ box set and the band’s final and extensive UK & European tour, which included a performance of ‘S.F. Sorrow’ in full at the Isle of Wight Festival.


1. Death Of A Socialite

2. Children

3. The Sun

4. There Will Never Be Another Day

5. House Of Ten

6. Out In The Night

7. One Long Glance / Growing In My Mind

8. Photographer

9. Bright Lights Of The City

10. Tripping

11. My Time

12. A House In The Country (Bonus Track)

13. Progress (Bonus Track)

14. Photographer (Bonus Track)

15. There Will Never Be Another Day (Bonus Track)

16. My Time (Bonus Track)

17. The Sun (Bonus Track) 1

18. Progress (Bonus Track)


* E-Mail: