Grow Towards The Light

LP £19.99
  • SKU: LPBBIB057
  • UPC: 0857387005117
  • Release Date: 28 June 2019


Label Review. 

2019 album. Also available on CD

Our Overview. 

Named after an extinct prehistoric carnivore, Dire Wolves are the brainchild of Jeffrey Alexander, who has over the years, run Secret Eye Records, been a member of Jackie O Motherfucker, Black Forest Black Sea, and managed to find a way to always remain genuinely excited about creating and performing music.

Recorded in Oakland, CA, USA during a two day stretch, the cosmic ‘Grow Towards the Light’ is Dire Wolves 4th official full-length album (not including the fifteen or so minor releases, bootlegs, and tapes they’ve put out over the years), and its the first without Lau Nau on main vocals. Taking over that role is the mystical Georgia Carbone, singing in her own invented language. Jeffrey plays guitar and moog here, joined by Brian Lucas on bass, Sheila Bosco (from Faun Fables) on drums and piano, Arjun Mendiratta (Village of Spaces) on violin, and Taralie Peterson (Spires that in the Sunset Rise) on saxophone. The track “Every Step Is Birth” features a dark, plodding groove. It sounds like the soundtrack to a sinister after-party in a place you suspect might actually be purgatory. Meanwhile the track “Spacetime Rider” sounds exactly as you’d expect with a steady beat, groovy bassline and interstellar sounds weaving in and out.

Jeffrey says “the album thematically tries to express the interconnectedness of all things, which makes perfect sense given even during some of the more unsettling jams and eerie melodies, this album always feels like a cohesive whole.” Stylistically this is really a broad, painterly album that comes together in a beautiful, unexpected way.