Hot Foot Powder (Yellow vinyl)

LP £17.99
  • SKU: SMALP1130
  • UPC: 0636551813013
  • Release Date: 19 July 2019


Label Review. 

2000 album reissue. Special guests include Buddy Guy, Otis Rush, Hubert Sumlin, Dr John, Joe Louis Walker & Honey Boy Edwards. Also avaible on CD.

Our Overview. 

Reissue of this 2000 album ‘Hot Foot Powder’ from the British Blues legend and former Fleetwood Mac leader and guitarist Peter Green is a blue’s lover’s must. ‘Hot Foot Powder’ was Peter’s second album made up entirely of covers of the music by the legendary Delta bluesman Robert Johnson containing 13 of Green's interpretations of Robert Johnson songs and joined by a host of contemporary blues stars.

The 29 songs that Robert Johnson recorded in various Texas hotel rooms in 1936 and 1937 are amongst the most significant and influential works in the history of Blues music. It was thus very appropriate that it was to these landmark songs that Peter Green turned to when recording the two albums that re-launched his career: 1998's the Robert Johnson Songbook and this album. Hot Foot Powder saw his Splinter Group joined by such Blues legends as Buddy Guy, Otis Rush, Dr. John, Hubert Sumlin, Joe Louis Walker & Honey Boy Edwards.

Peter Green is widely regarded as one of the finest guitarists of his generation. His virtuoso blues playing was an integral part of the sound of the original Fleetwood Mac, which he founded in 1967, and his tortured lead placed him on a par with legends such as Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page. In the early ‘70s, Green left the band and he was to spend much of the next three decades in the wilderness, battling a number of health issues.

He re-emerged in the late 1990’s performing with the Peter Green Splinter Group, and the second album of his remarkable revival, The Robert Johnson Songbook, is one of the greatest classic blues records and was the first British album to win the prestigious WC Handy Award.

The CD edition of ‘Hot Foot Powder’ is presented in digipack packaging complete with an 8-page booklet whilst the LP edition is released on 180gm heavyweight audiophile vinyl presented in single sleeve packaging.


1. I’m A Steady Rollin’ Man (feat Otis Rush) 

2. From Four Till Late (feat Dr John)

3. Dead Shrimp Blues

4. Little Queen Of Spades

5. They’re Red Hot

6. Preachin’ Blues

7. Hellhound On My Trail

8.Traveling Riverside Blues

9. Malted Milk 

10. Milkcow’s Calf Blues

11. Drunken Hearted Man

12. Crossroad Blues

13. Come On In My Kitchen