Is Not Defeated

2LP £40.99
  • SKU: LPHMK023
  • UPC: 0634457891319
  • Release Date: 16 August 2019


Label Review. 

2019 album also available on CD.

Our Overview. 

‘Is Not Defeated’, is the American post rock band - The Ascent Of Everest’s first release in nine years and it is an album from a tight-knit community of musicians who assembled, lived together, and wrote music together in non-traditional ways. it’s an album of intricate compositions and sincere passion, culminating in an emotional and cathartic zenith. The Ascent Of Everest is a formed by Devin Lamp (guitar, vocals), Keller McDivitt (guitar), Drew Binkley (bass), Casey Kaufman (cello, strings), Dillon Smith (violin, strings), Chris Click (piano) and Michael Thurmon (drums, percussion). 

The Ascent Of Everest is metaphor for ambitious goals, partly the synthesis of genre and fusion of musical traditions but also to articulate abstract emotional places and states of being. some will be quick to pick out bits that could be called post rock metal doom electronic shoegaze neoclassical post minimalist etc. but shy from saying what the ultimate result is: this is about the journey into the unknown, fiercely new territories.