Monsters [Purple swirl vinyl]

2LP £26.99
  • SKU: COUNT198
  • UPC: 5054429141290
  • Release Date: 10 July 2020


Label Review. 

2020 album. Synthwave. Also available on CD.

Our Overview. 

US based Synthwave band composed of Atlanta-based singer-songwriter Jamison Tyler Lyle and LA based Danish-born producer, songwriter and singer Tim Daniel McEwan aka The Midnight are releasing their fifth album ‘Monsters’.

The Midnight have attracted a strong fan base over the past decade, fusing synth-driven film scores, deep house, pop, and rock. And having gone from online cult fascination to selling out London’s Roundhouse in 2019 the album finds the duo creating a sweeping sound that fuses Americana archetypes with an evocative electronic palette.

‘Monsters’ (released via Counter Records, home to Maribou State, Odesza, Chrome Sparks) sees a continuation of The Midnight’s immersive world building that has attracted a rabid fanbase.

“‘Monsters’ is the story of being a teenager,” says the band in a press release. “Adolescence is messy, tragic, brutal, wistful, and beautiful. ‘Monsters’ is all of that.”

From the album artwork to the song titles, the record excavates teenage emotions through nostalgic touchstones — the early internet, VHS tapes, Playstations, movie posters — to recreate the thrilling and crushing experiences of those tumultuous years.

Tracklisting: 1991 (intro) / America Online / Dance With Somebody / Seventeen / Dream Away / The Search for Ecco / Prom Night / Fire In The Sky / Monsters (feat. Jupiter Winter) / Helvetica / Brooklyn / Deep Blue / Night Skies / City Dreams(interlude) / Last Train