R&B From The Marquee

LP £19.99
  • SKU: 408740
  • UPC: 8436559466479
  • Release Date: 09 August 2019


Label Review.

1962 with 4 bonus tracks. Waxtime.

Our Overview.

Stunning limited edition of 500 copies, high-definition premium 180 gram vinyl audiophile pressing for super fidelity. The way this music was meant to be heard! Alexis Korner is widely regarded as the founding father of British blues. He became well known in the ‘60s, as his early performances and teachings were a magnet for young blues enthusiasts. Korner put together amplified blues outfits that spawned the likes of The Rolling Stones, The Pretty Things, Cream and Led Zeppelin, among others. He also became a familiar exponent of the idiom on the BBC.

This essential LP release includes R&B from the Marquee - one of Korner’s most iconic albums from his early days with Blues Incorporated. The long play was not a live album, nor was it cut at the Marquee as its title suggests. It was actually taped at Decca Records’ London studio in June 1962, produced by Jack Good and released that same year by Decca’s subsidiary label Ace of Clubs. In addition to the original long play, this limited collector’s edition includes 4 bonus tracks from the same period. The bonus material includes the guitar instrumental “3/4 A.D.” (a collaborative recording with the legendary British folk guitarist Davy Graham), Willie Dixon’s “I’m Built for Comfort,” and two hard-to-find sides: Lead Belly’s “National Defence Blues,” and the acoustic gem “Sail On.”

“Alexis Korner and Cyril Davies were the start of rhythm and blues in UK. I learned the blues through them.” - Charlie Watts

ALEXIS KORNER’S BLUES INCORPORATED: Alexis Korner (acoustic guitar), Cyril Davies (harmonica, also vocals on Side 1 tracks 3, 5, 6 & 7 / Side 2, tracks 1 & 3), John Baldry (vocals on Side 1, track 2 / Side 2, tracks 5 & 6), Spike Heatley (upright bass), Keith Scott (piano), Graham Burbidge (drums), Dick Heckstall- Smith (tenor saxophone), among others. Further personnel information is detailed inside. Recorded by Jack Clegg at Decca Studios, West Hampstead, London, June 8, 1962. Original recordings produced by Jack Good.

Track listing:

1. Gotta Move

2. Rain Is Such A Lonesome Sound

3. Got My Brand On You

4. Spooky But Nice

5. Keep Your Hands Off

6. (I Wanna Put) A Tiger In Your Tank

7. I’m Built For Comfort

8. 3/4 A.D.

9. I Got My Mojo Working / Finkle’s Caf

10. Hoochie Coochie

11. Down Town

12. How Long, How Long, Blues

13. I Thought I Heard That Whistle Blow

14. National Defence Blues

15. Sail On