CD £9.99
  • UPC: 5414940008906
  • Release Date: 27 July 2018


Label Review.

2018 album also available in Vinyl.

Our Overview.

Supergroup ShadowParty - consisting of Devo, New Order and Verve members release self titled album. The band is made up of Josh Hager, currently playing guitar and keyboards in Devo, New Order bassist Tom Chapman and guitarist Phil Cunningham and Devo drummer Jeff Friedl.

ShadowParty are a band united by fairly unusual circumstance - each member is a latter-day addition to a huge band and here they’ve combined as synthpop’s answer to The Avengers.The nucleus of the group formed when Josh Hager and Tom Chapman met in Boston, Massachusetts. Josh is a former member of The Rentals and currently plays guitar and keyboards in Devo. Tom Chapman is the former bass player of Bad Lieutenant who followed frontman Bernard Sumner to New Order in 2011 when the band reunited for a series of charity gigs. Completing the group are Phil Cunningham - Marion founder member and New Order’s guitarist since 2002 - and drummer Jeff Friedl, who plays for Devo.

Newly signed to Mute, ShadowParty’s debut - recorded in Boston, LA, Manchester and, of course, Macclesfield - is an album that nods to those groups but exists in its own right entirely, a synthpop album with guitars and strings and guests including the incomparable vocalist Denise Johnson (Primal Scream, A Certain Ratio) and The Verve’s revered guitarist Nick McCabe.


* E-Mail: