Slow Dancing: The Recordings 1974-1979

4CD £26.00
  • SKU: ECLEC42735
  • UPC: 5013929473584
  • Release Date: 28 August 2020


Label Review. 

Blue Pine Trees, Too Many Crooks, One More Tomorrow plus 39 bonus tracks. Esoteric.

Our Overview. 

Lead by singer songwriter Ken Baker, Unicorn were one of the UK’s prime exponents of ‘Country Rock’ but although their four albums released over the course of the 1970s sold poorly, despite the patronage of Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour who was a big fan of the group, today the band remain a cult favourite with fans of the genre.

Esoteric Recordings is pleased to announce the release of a new 4 CD boxed set that gathers together their second, third and fourth albums plus an additional disc of previously unreleased archive material. Unicorn recorded their first album in 1971 for the Transatlantic label, but by 1973 they began an association with Gilmour who was taken with the band’s musical approach and American West Coast musical influences, vocal harmonies and very English lyrics. Gilmour played slide guitar and produced their next album, ‘Blue Pine Trees’ for Charisma Records. Featuring a line-up of Kenny Baker (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Pete Perryer (Drums, lead vocals) Pat Martin (bass, vocals) and Kevin Smith (lead guitar, mandolin). In 1976 the band signed with EMI’s Harvest label and recorded their next album ‘Too Many Crooks’ again with David Gilmour. The album included the song “No Way Out Of Here” which Gilmour would cover on his first solo album in 1978. ‘One More Tomorrow’ was the band’s final album and was released in 1977.

Although Unicorn would continue until 1979, the band didn’t record another new album. However this box set features an additional CD with 19 previously unreleased studio and live archive recordings, selected by Unicorn’s Pat Martin. The set also features an illustrated booklet and essay and is a fine tribute to one of Britain’s most unique bands.


Disc One: Blue Pine Trees - Electric Night / Sleep Song / Autumn Wine / Rat Race / Just Wanna Hold You / Holland / Nightingale Crescent / The Farmer / In The Gym / Blue Pine Trees // Bonus Tracks - Ooh Mother / Volcano / The Ballad Of John And Julie (BBC Session 1974) / Bog Trotter / Ooh Mother (Single Version) / I’ll Believe In You (The Hymn) / Take It Easy

Disc Two: Too Many Crooks - Weekend / Ferry Boat / He’s Got Pride / Keep On Going / Too Many Crooks / Bullseye Bill / Disco Dancer / Easy / No Way Out Of Here / In The Mood // Bonus Tracks - So Far Away / Weekend (Live Radio Studio Session 1975) / Ferry Boat (Live Radio Studio Session 1975) / He’s Got Pride (Live Radio Studio Session 1975) / No Way Out Of Here (Live Radio Studio Session 1975) / Disco Dancer (Single Version)

Disc Three: One More Tomorrow - Have You Ever Seen The Rain / New Shoes / Slow Dancing / Get Along Fine / British Rail Romance / Eric / One More Tomorrow / So Hard To Get Through / I’m Alright (When I’m With You) / The Night / The Way It Goes / Magnolia Avenue // Bonus Tracks - Give And Take / Nothing I Wouldn’t Do / In The Mood / Keep On Going (Live Radio Studio Session 1975) / Rio De Janeiro / Don’t Tell Me I Know / All Crazy People

Disc Four: Archive Recordings Previously Unreleased - Come A Long Way / Billy The Kid / The Man In Me / Hold On / Loving You / Don’t Turn Away / This Old World / The Sweeter Life / Look Into Your Mirror / Boney Fingers (Live In The USA 1974) / Corrina Corrina (Live In The USA 1974) / Nashville West (Live In The USA 1974) / Lenny Dee / In The Gym (Live BBC Radio) / Get Along Fine (Alternate Version) / Man In The Fog / You Angel You / One More Tomorrow (Demo) / Tell Me Straight