Spirits In The Forest

2CD £14.99
  • SKU: 19439727692
  • UPC: 0194397276923
  • Release Date: 26 June 2020


Label Review. 

2020 live release. Recorded in 2018 at the final two shows of the Global Spirit Tour at the Waldbuhne in Berlin. Visual content features documentary and full concert. Also available on 2CD+DVD and 2CD+Blu-ray

Our Overview. 

This special four-disc (two video discs plus two audio discs) configuration presents the definitive Depeche Mode: ‘Spirits In The Forest’ experience at its most immersive, and will be available in both DVD or Blu-Ray formats. The package’s two video discs contain the ‘Spirits In The Forest’ documentary, alongside ‘Live Spirits’, a full-length Depeche Mode concert performance filmed at the final two shows of the Global Spirit Tour at the Waldbühne in Berlin. This footage has never been previously released or broadcast in its entirety. In addition to the two video discs, the package includes two CDs containing the ‘Live Spirits’ soundtrack, the live audio recording from the performance. The package promises to be essential for collectors, longtime fans, and newcomers alike.

‘Depeche Mode: Spirits in the Forest’ set “the new gold standard for concert films,” according to Forbes. Re-envisioning the very concept of a music documentary, director and longtime Depeche Mode collaborator Anton Corbijn focused the narrative on six super fans from different regions of the globe. The film zeroes in on their lives – all extremely different save for their love of Depeche Mode’s music and the way that music has shaped their experiences – intercut with the final Berlin show, held at the iconic Waldbühne (“Forest Stage”) on the record-breaking two-year Global Spirit Tour in 2018, which saw them play to over 3 million fans at 115 shows around the world. The music, including several of Depeche Mode’s biggest hits, and the Spirits’ stories entwine seamlessly, illuminating the enduring power of Depeche Mode and the power music has to cross boundaries and borders and ultimately unite us.

Tracklisting: Intro / Going Backwards / It’s No Good / A Pain That I’m Used To / Useless / Precious / World in My Eyes / Cover Me / The Things You Said / Insight / Poison Heart / Where’s the Revolution / Everything Counts / Stripped / Enjoy the Silence / Never Let Me Down Again / I Want You Now / Heroes / Walking In My Shoes / Personal Jesus / Just Can’t Get Enough