Tantamount To Treason Volume One [50th Anniversary Edition]

CD £17.00 Exc VAT: £14.17
  • SKU: 7A039
  • UPC: 5060209950396
  • Release Date: 03 June 2022


1972 album with 5 bonus tracks. Mama Rocker / Lazy Lady / You Are My One / In The Afternoon / Highway 99 With Melange / Wax Minute / Bonaparte's Retreat / Talking To The Wall / She Thinks I Still Care / Six Days On The Road / Circle Sky / Listen To The Band (Alt. Ver.) / Tan My Hide (Instrumental) / You Are My One (Instrumental).

7A Records announces the 50th Anniversary expanded reissue release of Michael Nesmith And The Second National Band’s 1972 album ‘Tantamount To Treason, Volume One’. 7A Records have remastered the album and included four bonus tracks. The album is released on CD with a 32 page colour booklet featuring extensive liner notes, lyrics to all of the songs and a brand new cover painting by Wilson McLean, who also painted the original 1972 album cover. The vinyl version is presented in a gatefold sleeve and pressed on 180g Splatter Vinyl.

• 50th Anniversary Edition

• Includes four Bonus Tracks

• Extensive Liver Notes

• Brand new cover painting by Wilson McLean

• 32 page CD booklet with lyrics to all of the songs

The Album

By late 1971, Michael Nesmith found himself confronted with dissenting opinions of his First National Band releases on RCA Records. Though critics generally lauded the music, radio audiences and the record buying public became less interested in the material with each subsequent release. Contemplating his next move under his RCA contract, Nesmith made some significant changes to his approach in recording new material, which would ultimately yield Tantamount to Treason, Volume One. Gone would be a supporting “band” in the sense of a collective partnership of musicians. Rather, an eclectic group of session musicians would be gathered to lay down what were arguably Nesmith’s most free-form, jazz-influenced and psychedelic country tracks of his career.


* E-Mail: