Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)

2LP £23.99
  • SKU: 7209520
  • UPC: 0888072095205
  • Release Date: 14 June 2019


Label Review. 

2019 album. Straddling rock and roll, country, soul, folk and R&B. Also available on CD

Our Overview. 

The son of country legend Willie Nelson, Lukas Nelson formed Promise Of The Real in 2008 after deciding to pursue his career in music full time. The first half of the 2010s saw the young band tread the boards not just on their own but also as Willie’s backing band and it was at Farm Aid 2014 that the Neil Young jammed with the group and selected them to be his backing band for his next album ‘The Monsanto Years’ and subsequent tour. Young was clearly pleased with his young chargers behind him and a live album (‘Earth’) and a second studio album (‘The Visitor’) followed. With the band firmly on the map Lukas added his name to the combo and they released their debut album in 2017.

‘Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)’, the poignant and timely title track from the new album is an uplifting and emotional song, with backing vocals from Sheryl Crow, and is a message of hope, positivity and activism. “We’re trying to encourage a lifestyle where people can be active in their local communities, and do something constructive, rather than glued to a device,” said Nelson. “It’s really about living your life with your heart leading the way.”

Inspired by their keen interest in the environment and association with organizations such as Farm Aid, the band has launched a video series called ‘Good News Garden’, encouraging fans to share their stories of hope, community gardening and local activism. In each new episode, their favourite letters will be read from the road via video. Fans whose submissions were chosen will receive special seed cards and other promo items.

Recorded at Shangri-La in Malibu and the Village Studios in West L.A., ‘Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)’ was co-produced by Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real and John Alagia, who helmed the group’s previous, self-titled effort in 2017. The band: bassist Corey McCormick, drummer Anthony Logerfo, percussionist Tato Melgar, multi-instrumentalist Logan Metz and Lukas Nelson, worked fast recording 30 original songs during brief breaks between tours. They tracked straight to analog tape, keeping overdubs to a minimum while focusing on the live performances. Vocal and instrumental contributions from friends and family include Margo Price, Sheryl Crow, Willie Nelson, Micah Nelson, Kesha, Shooter Jennings, Randy Houser, Lucius, Madison Ryann Ward, Hunter Elizabeth and Neil Young.